‘The trophy goes where Wasim Akram goes’

Wasim Akram achieved the feat after winning the PSL trophy for the second time with the Karachi Kings. Photo: File

Former Pakistan skipper Wasim Akram is the first person to have won the Indian Premier League (PSL)  and Pakistan Super League  (IPL) twice,  shared by  Cricinfo in a tweet a day after the PSL final that led Akram’s team – Karachi Kings – to victory.

Akram was the bowling coach for IPL’s Kolkata Knight Riders from 2010 to 2017.

During his time with the team, the IPL franchise won in 2012 and 2014 under the captaincy of former Indian opener Gautam Gambhir.

Ever since the start of the PSL, the left-arm pacer had been involved with one of the franchises.

Akram had joined PSL’s most successful franchise Islamabad United as its cricket director in 2016. It eventually won the trophy.

After completing two stints with Islamabad, Akram moved to Multan Sultans as the team director when the team joined the PSL.

In 2018, however, the former southpaw again switched sides and joined Karachi Kings as its president.

They won their first PSL title with Akram, who was also working as the acting coach of the franchise after the untimely death of Dean Jones. 

also read..

Pak vs SA, 1st T20I: Match preview

News Editor

Ott Tanak escapes unhurt after his vehicle meets massive road crash

News Editor

Cricketer #HasanAli tied up a knot to #SamiaArzoo

News Editor

Babar Azam, Mahmudullah unveil T20I series trophy

News Editor

Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan smash record knocks against South Africa

News Editor

IPL 2021: David Warner, Kane Williamson observe fast with teammates

News Editor